Why buy American Made Products?

I’m glad you want to know why you should buy American Made Products!

Made in USA
Image from http://www.nhclocks.com

Keep reading and I will share with you what I have learned…

It’s pretty sad that we are at a point that we have to make a choice of paying a little more for something and knowing it will be safe and is made with strict guidelines or purchasing something that can potentially harm us but pay less. That to me is a no brainer. Which is why I put together this Article about How to Buy Products Made in America. It’s an in depth list of Products and Brands Made in the USA. I also wrote an article on how It’s Easy To Support Women Owned Businesses.

I recently read an article from the Website Made in America Forever; they sell only quality products made in the USA. The article I read stated that, “the truth is, there are MANY reasons to consider buying American-made clothing, American-made toys, and other US-manufactured goods.” They listed just a few of the benefits of buying American Made Products below:

Made in USA Forever

Top Ten Reasons to Buy USA Made Products according to Made in America Forever:

10) Foreign labor standards allow unsafe worker conditions in many countries. When you buy American you support not only American manufacturers but also American workers, safe working conditions, and child labor laws. (I would hate to give to these unorthodox ways).

9) Jobs shipped abroad almost never return. When you buy goods made in the USA, you help keep the American economy growing. (Our economy needs our help in every way we can give it).

8) US manufacturing processes are much cleaner for the environment than many other countries; many brands sold here are produced in countries using dangerous, heavily polluting processes. When you purchase American-made product, you know that you’re helping to keep the world a little cleaner for your children. (The United States has stronger rules and regulations than other countries).

7) Many countries have no minimum wage restrictions, or the minimum wage is outrageously low. When you choose products made in the USA, you contribute to the payment of an honest day’s wages for an honest day’s work. (I don’t want children being made to produce what I am purchasing for next to nothing).

6) The growing lack of USA ability to manufacture many products is strategically unsound. When you seek out American-made goods, you foster American independence.

5) The huge US trade deficit leads to massive, unsustainable borrowing from other countries. Debt isn’t good for you and it isn’t good for America. (We really need to do something about the amount of debt our country is in).

4) Foreign product safety standards are low. For example, poisonous levels of lead are in tens of millions of toys shipped to the USA. When you buy toys and other goods made in the USA, you can be confident that American consumer protection laws and safety standards are in place to protect your family. (I buy for my friends and family, I don’t want to poison them with no regulations regarding product safety)

3) Lack of minimum wage, worker safety, or environmental pollution controls in many countries undermines the concept of “fair and free trade”. No Western nation can ultimately compete on price with a country willing to massively exploit and pollute its own people. When you buy only American-made products, you insist on a higher standard.

2) Factories and money are shifting to countries not friendly to the USA or democracy. When you avoid imported goods in favor of American-made items, you help ensure that the United States doesn’t find its access to vital goods impacted by political conflict. (Enough said).

1) As the US manufacturing ability fades, future generations of US citizens will be unable to find relevant jobs. Buy American and help keep your friends and neighbors-and even yourself-earning a living wage. (I have 3 kids and a grandchild to think about, I can’t be selfish).

To sum this list up, if you love where you live and you like breathing clean air we need to change our buying habits now. Our country can’t survive if we keep sending everything off to be manufactured.

How do you know if it’s really made in America?

According to the Federal Trade Commission (FTC), “Made in the USA” means that “all or virtually all” of a given product has been made in America, meaning all significant parts, processing and labor that go into the product must be of U.S. origin. For most products, there is no law that requires manufacturers to make a “Made in the USA” claim, with the exception of automobiles and textile or wool products, which are required to be labeled with the country where they were manufactured.

Consumer Reports

Like I stated in How to Buy Products Made in America, Consumers Reports states that, “Another type of labeling law, enforced by U.S. Customs and Border Protection with an assist from the Department of Agriculture, requires imported goods to bear a country-of-origin label when they enter the U.S. If an import combines materials or processing from more than one country, the agency considers the country of origin to be the last country in which a “substantial transformation” occurred—for example, the place where a computer was fabricated, not the country that supplied most parts.

The USDA’s Agricultural Marketing Service is responsible for administering and enforcing country-of-origin labeling of certain foods. Large retailers must use signs, labels, or stickers to identify the birthplace of covered commodities (most meat, fish, fresh or frozen fruits, vegetables, and some nuts). That’s why some brands of salmon are labeled both “wild-caught Alaskan” and “Product of Thailand.” The fish was caught in U.S. waters but took a detour to Asia to be skinned and boned (to take advantage of cheaper labor) before making its return voyage. Under the law, that side trip must be noted.”

There’s good news!

The good news is that if you see an item that says Made in the USA they actually are regulated and have to be made in America. A few years ago when we went to the store we had no idea where our stuff was coming from. We didn’t have any regulations on labeling or tags telling us where something came from. We were just supposed to guess. I know when I am buying toys for my grandson and my kids I pay special attention to where the items are made. There are too many recalls and warnings on lead content and contamination in the products made overseas. I will not take that chance when it comes to my family.

I know one thing for sure, after researching and reading articles for this post, I am going to be more cautious. I am going to go above and beyond to make sure I am not only supporting the companies here in the United States, but not complain to myself about the bit of extra money I have to spend. My life and my children’s lives really do depend on these awesome Businesses that stay here in the United States. We all know it’s cheaper and easier to send things abroad to be made. That my friend is not the American way.

American Made

What do you think about products being made in America versus made in other countries? Will you make a stand with me and start buying American as much as possible?

If you’re interested in more to this series watch for my next post on how It’s Easy To Support Women Owned Businesses. You can also find a list of Businesses and products Made in the USA that I wrote here in How to Buy Products Made in America. Remember this is our land; it’s up to us to keep it going.

12 thoughts on “Why buy American Made Products?

  1. Coincidentally, in a political forum I belong to, we are arguing ‘ethical capitalism’ and I added your piece as support for my argument that the consumer has a great deal of power as to how successful an ethical company can be. It is linked into a private group, so I can’t show the link here, but I wanted to let you know.

    And thanks for the information. It is most helpful! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Penny for your thoughts . . .