Did I Even Sleep Last Night??

In response to the WordPress Post a Day question…  Write down the first thought you had this morning!

Did I even sleep last night?

Sleeping

That’s what was running through my head as I removed myself from underneath my 2 year old (almost 3) Grandson Brayden. He personally called me last night to ask if he could come over and spend the night with me. How could I say no? It’s not very often you get a call from a almost 3 year old, let alone hearing them articulate a sentence asking that question.

I am going to assume my daughter jumped at the first word of “I want to call grandma”. She likely prompted him to ask if he could come over but he still asked so what’s a girl to do. I know that it’s a bad idea to let him stay on school nights because my kids have to go to bed at 9:00 pm and I get up at 5:20 am which makes for a VERY LONG day after zero sleep with the little guy.

You see I ruined the sleeping at Grandma’s thing for us a long time ago. Like I mentioned in this post 14 Things About Hellbilly Mama- 30 Day Blog Challenge I sleep on the couch. Brayden has always slept on the couch with me when he spends the night. When he was smaller it was no problem. Now that he is a big boy our space is limited. He also thinks that me saying, “lay down and go to sleep” really means get up and play with everything you can find and eat everything you can see in the refrigerator. This is after we have already indulged in our Peanut Butter fix for the night that I wrote about here in My Guilty Pleasures – 30 Day Blog Challenge.

Our night looked like this-

10:00 pm I am exhausted and want to lay down and watch some TV before going to sleep – Brayden wants to watch cartoons to go to sleep, we compromise with me on my phone and him watching Cartoons. I have to mention that Aunt Paige gave him a stack of Ritz crackers before she went to bed. This is round 1 of getting him to bed!

10:30 pm We (he) decide now is a good time to have our Peanut Butter fix. In the chaos of getting him ready to lay down I forgot to grab him a spoon too. I now have to get up from my comfy couch and grab him a spoon. Of course he has to get up and come with me too. Now it’s round 2 of getting him laid down. We eat some Peanut Butter and everything is going good.

Clementine

Clementine

11:00 pm My eyes are barely staying open. Brayden’s eyes are wide open and he’s roaming around the living room playing with all of his toys. He has at least 10 different toys out at this point. He proceeded to go to the refrigerator and get out a Clementine and brings it for me to peel for him. I realize that I have crushed up Ritz Crackers stuck to my face and all over the couch (thank you Aunt Paige). I get up to clean up the crackers and make sure he shut the fridge door. Now it’s round 3 of getting him to lay down. I asked him why he crushed up the crackers and he just said, “because I needed to” Good enough for me!  We are again laying down watching TV again.

11:30 pm We are still awake, he has gotten up again this time because he HAD to go potty. I forgot to mention the cup of orange juice I had given him at 9:00 to go with his crackers. I was to lazy to dig for the rubber gasket to make his sippy cup not leak. Big mistake, we now have orange juice mixed in with the cracker crumbs I missed when wiping them off the couch (yes I wiped them onto the floor to deal with in the morning, don’t judge me). Round 4 of getting him laid down. We are all snuggled up again, I give him a 10 minute warning that I am going to turn the Cartoons off, he whines for a minute at me saying that, then stops. We are good to go. Let’s sleep.

Sippy Cup

12:00 am I fell asleep! Yup bad grandma! The TV is still on because I fell asleep before I could turn it off. I know your wondering if Brayden is sleeping. The answer is NOPE, he has now emptied one of my cupboards where I keep all of the paper, coloring books and crayons. He is standing at the coffee table with paper, pens, crayons and coloring books spread out everywhere coloring a scribble on every page of every sheet of paper (something I don’t allow him to do when he colors or writes). At this point in time I am soo frustrated and tired I just want to cry. The messes he has made in the last 2 hours is astounding. It is going to take forever to clean up (in the morning, of course).

I resort to yelling at him and threatening to have him picked up if he doesn’t lay down and stay laying down. Round 5 of getting him laid down. I am serious this time about it, so I turn off the TV. We then spend the next 20 minutes with him whining and crying because he wants to watch Peppa Pig. Running through my head at this point in time is someone shoot me now!!

12:20 am I give in and turn the TV back on and find Peppa Pig on Demand for him to watch. Shush up, if I didn’t turn it back on he would have woke up Paige and Gabe. Remember, we all still have to get up at 5:20 am. He’s laying down and enjoying Peppa Pig and I am trying my hardest to stay awake this time so another hurricane doesn’t hit my house. Round 6 of getting him laid down. I’m not sure what time we finally fell asleep, I don’t even know if he fell asleep first.

I spent the rest of the night waking up periodically to make sure he was still sleeping, the other million times I woke up was to gently scooch him over or flip him back around on the couch so I didn’t kick him in the head accidentally and god forbid wake him up.

5:20 am My alarm clock goes off and the TV was still on. I jump up out of bed and run across the living room to turn it off! (tripping over all the junk from the previous nights chaos). There is no way in hell I want him to wake up this early. I need a little peace and quiet this morning before he wakes up and the madness starts all over again. This is when the question runs through my head, did I even sleep last night?

Don’t forget to please leave your comments about my night below:

Brayden This Morning

Brayden This Morning emptying his toy bins

If you want to read another funny Post from Hellbilly Mama’s life, read this one-

The Hammock Incident- Greatest Hellbilly Fail!!

25 thoughts on “Did I Even Sleep Last Night??

  1. Sounds like it’s going to be a caffeinated day. Maybe you can sneak in a nap this afternoon.

    Thank you for tossing your hat into the ring at the Party Under The Big Top! We hope to see you again next week! #BigTopBlogParty

    Liked by 1 person

  2. OOOooo, I don’t envy you one little bit (but I bet it’s nice being Grandma!). Tiredness is the pits, even if the cause of it is your cute Grandson. I’m not sure I would cope with having a little one around now, even if they were blood!

    #BigTopBloParty

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I agree with Grandma Cheryl on this one! But I now often say that’s why God has the women in their 20s and 30s have the kids and the women in their mid 402 on have menopause. None of us could keep up!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Personality Traits I am Proud Of- 30 Day Blog Challenge | Hellbilly Mama Blog

  5. Pingback: The Hammock Incident- Greatest Hellbilly Fail!! | Hellbilly Mama Blog

  6. I felt like I was right there with you and couldn’t wait to read what happened next! I feel your pain because I am a Nona (Grandma) too and allow my grandkids to get away with murder! But.. They also know that when Nona is done, she is done! All I have to do is say there name in that Mommy tone and they are quick to knock off their whining and crying, most days that is. Little do they really know that I’m a pushover and they could do just about anything they wanted without any real consequences!

    I still have two teens at home and they always complain about how their nephew, only because he is the oldest and not still a toddler, gets away with EVERYTHING! Then I think about how my parents are the same way with my kids as there have been many times I thought for sure they had pushed my Daddy over the edge only to be completely shocked that he didn’t completely lose it on them! Being a grandparent is so much more fun than being a parent because you can send them home! Hahaha!

    Thank you for joining us by linking up to Party Under the Big Top! Hope to see you again next time!

    Wishing you a fabulous week!

    Much love,
    Lysa xx
    Welcome to My Circus
    #BigTopBlogParty

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I had this thought in the morning too after being up all night with my 5 month old son (we’ve both been sick). I guess I have some interesting toddler times to look forward to! 🙂 Thanks for joining us at the #HomeMattersParty – we hope to see you again next week!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Pingback: Happy Pancake Poem! | litadoolan

  9. Pingback: Happy Pancake Poem! | litadoolan

Penny for your thoughts . . .

