Homemade Hot Cocoa Mix

Hot Cocoa

Homemade Hot Cocoa Mix

This winter my kids and their friends have been drinking tea and hot cocoa like crazy. Seriously I can’t keep the stuff in the house. I decided to give this recipe I found from Seeded at the Table Website. http://www.seededatthetable.com/2012/02/10/homemade-hot-cocoa-mix/ a try. It was super duper easy to make.

I measured out the ingredients put it into the food processor and wham- done. I did exchange the white chocolate chips for regular chocolate chips though. I am going to let you know that when it comes to grinding the chocolate chips up into the mix make sure you work in small batches (the white chips might grind up better).

I am impatient and tried to mix it in the food processor in only 3 batches. Big mistake!  I had the mix poured into my large storage container mixing our first cup when I realized that I still had whole chocolate chips in my mixture. Instead of being a good mom and re-mixing it, I decided my kids would be fine with hot chunky chocolate  milk. lol..

I did break down and remix a mason jars worth, we gave it to my daughters friend as a gift for Christmas.  She doesn’t drink the tea with the other kids, it’s always hot cocoa. So I stopped at the dollar store once again and grabbed her a large hot cocoa mug to go with her mason jar full of homemade hot cocoa mix. She loved the gift and the cocoa.

One thing we noticed when taste testing the mix is that when it is mixed with water instead of milk you need to use more of the cocoa powder. Yes, I was trying to be a cheapskate and make the kids use water instead of milk. I’m not sure if using water is cheaper in the end, but I can’t stand when the kids use up all the milk sooooo water it is.

Penny for your thoughts . . .

